Shots at roosters before flush?

Pheasant, turkey, dove, grouse, partridge, quail, squirrel, rabbits, etc.

Moderators: The Cat Island Drake, birddog crazy

Shots at roosters before flush?

Postby JimboPDX » Thu Sep 29, 2005 10:56 pm

I am fairly new to pheasant hunting and usually hunt alone and without a birddog as I am now to the sport. This week I shot my first pheasant of the season. :salude: Yesterday, I saw five roosters, shot at three flushed birds and hit/killed one. Ok so the shooting skills are a bit rusty so after I shoot a round or two of sporting clays I am going to go back out on Saturday.

So here are my questions:

1) As I was bush-whacking into some deep-dark-thickets I saw a rooster holding up 15 yards away. I could have taken it with a clean headshot ala turkey hunting style but didn’t know the protocols of pheasant hunting. Is this sporting, ethical, and accepted, in pheasant hunting circles?

2) As I was working some edges (corn along grass, grass along hedgerows, ect.) I would see roosters running away with no means for me to block them. I easily could have shot one with a clean shot on a rooster before it had flushed, but did not. once again, is it sporting, ethical, and accepted to put the hammer down on a rooster before it has flushed?

Guys, thanks for your guidance.

Cheers,
Fins, feathers, or fur....it's going down!
JimboPDX
hunter

Postby ActionPoint » Fri Sep 30, 2005 1:25 am