How to Freeze Herring?

Fresh and salt water fishing

Moderators: Dogman, Montanafowler, MossyGO!, Kiskadinna, WSUWESTON

How to Freeze Herring?

Postby GroundSwatter » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:26 am

So I'm new to this salt water fishing game, but I do know that Live Herring catches fish and fresh dead Herring catches fish, but frozen herring turns to mush when thawed.

I wanted to see if the wealth of knowledge here knows the best way to freeze herring. Being on GTMO we are in a unique situation that there is not really a bait shop. Normally we either have to go catch our herring with sibikis or a cast net. If we're looking for fresh herring, I typically don't mind fishing for them, but sometimes I don't like wasting time on the water looking for bait.

After doing some research on-line I'm trying a couple of different methods this first go around since I have a lot of dead herring and will not use it all this weekend.

1) I took fresh dead herring, it was on ice, and just vacuum sealed it.

2) Took fresh dead herring, covered in salt, then vacuum sealed it.

3) took fresh dead herring, covered in salt, let sit for an hour, then vacuum sealed it.

This is all I've done this morning. With whatever I have leftover tomorrow after fishing this weekend, I will most likely try to cover in salt for 12-24 hours, then vacuum seal it again.

I just wanted to see if anyone had experience with any of these methods or do you have a method of your own. Am I just destined to have mushy herring after thawing it out?

My backup plan is to just make it all into chum.
It's a fact that 70 percent of the people who purchase heavier tackle do so with the categorical I just lost a huge snook! Einstein Hairdo.The other 30 percent have either Tarpon Fever or are sporting a hand cramped into a claw from a deepwater grouper.
GroundSwatter
hunter

Re: How to Freeze Herring?

Postby dmurano » Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:20 pm