Summer time carp

Fresh and salt water fishing

Moderators: Dogman, WSUWESTON, Montanafowler, MossyGO!, Kiskadinna

Summer time carp

Postby FMFdevildoc » Mon Jul 04, 2011 4:59 am

I've been enjoying the between hunting season fishing, the carp have been hitting at my spot. We've nailed dozens in the 3-5lb range and can't even count the ones 7-10. Now we get pretty excited with the 10-15+ lb carps, as we fish with medium weight 6ft rods + 10 pound test line.

I've been fishing native trout for 20+ years; love me bass, bream, catfish - etc... But good lord there ain't no joy like hooking into a big *** carp! These two were some of the better 15-20lb range we've caught lately.

These really ain't that big and they get much larger, but ill be dammed if they aren't a hoot to catch! The photos are poor, although consider that im 6'1 / 200 and how big they look in comparison. Loads of fun, population control on carp is fine by me any day
Attachments
carp2.jpg
18lbs
carp1.jpg
16lbs
Why? One inquires why? Because, AMERICA !!
FMFdevildoc
hunter

Re: Summer time carp

Postby troutbum43 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 4:23 pm

Nice FMFDevilDoc!! I got my eye on a few of the golf course ponds by my house in Belen, I'm going to get the fly rod out one of these nights and try to get one of those big boys on the line!
Conserve, promote, protect and enhance...then harvest!
troutbum43
hunter

Postby FMFdevildoc » Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:54 am

Catch a carp on a fly rod and that'd be like trying to team rope elephants! Sounds like fun, I remember seeing videos of guys nailing carp on fly rods with heavier rods (what they'd use for Pike, Walleye - etc). I also regularly see carp feed on flys off of the surface, along with what looks like filter - feeding - just skimming along the surface of the water vacuuming up food. Carps on fly rods is totally possible and someday, when I've got a more robust fly rod I will do it.