Ice Fishing

Fresh and salt water fishing

Moderators: Dogman, WSUWESTON, Montanafowler, MossyGO!, Kiskadinna

Ice Fishing

Postby fishinMania7 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:44 pm

Hi everyone. This is my first year ice fishing and i went out today in the bay and seen some nice perch swimming around but none would hit my bait.. Do you have any tips or suggestions? I know most of the basics and stuff.
PS: im from sarnia, but any tips or suggestions i could try out down here :thumbsup:
fishinMania7
Newb

Postby timster » Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:35 pm

im 16 and ive been ice fishing for about 7 years now and theres really no tips or anythign that i can think of other than patience. i use large shiners for bait and fish about 6-15 inches off the bottom depending weedage but other than that its patience. sorry i dont have much more for ya bud but good luck
timster
Newb

Postby T-MAN » Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:55 pm

Around here the water is clear and the fish are really spooky. Move you jig really soft, or else they get spooked. Try out differnt jigs and bait combos. If i get into the perch i use a jig on the bottom (swedish pimple) with a minnow head, and 3 hooks w/ live minnows above it. I let that sit, and use a tiny jig with a minnow head or spike, and jig that. Meanwhile, ill let 3 or 4 fish get on the rod next to me, and reel it up all at once. You can easily fill 3 buckets in a day doing that. Money in the pocket right there
T-MAN
hunter

Postby skybuster20ga » Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:48 am

i dont jig much. its boring but i ice fish every weekend heres a 20" brown from two weekends ago
[IMG]http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb211/skybuster20ga/Picture008.jpg[/IMG]
-keep your booger hook off the bang switch 'till your ready to shoot"
skybuster20ga
hunter

Postby skybuster20ga » Wed Feb 06, 2008 11:49 am

crap sorry, ill try again
skybuster20ga
hunter

Postby Yoda » Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:22 pm