Trap or Sporting Clays

Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays; pistol/rifle target shooting, to plinking cans with a bb gun.

Moderator: waterfowlhunter

Trap or Sporting Clays

Postby tpd5 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:55 am

Hey guys,
I have pretty much no experience shooting clay sports at all. I just joined a club in my town that offers trap and sporting clays. I ultimately would like to get into sporting clays as it will help me in more hunting situations. Since I have no experience with clays of any kind and am fairly new to shotgunning would you recommend starting with trap or going straight to sporting clays.

Thanks
tpd5
hunter

Re: Trap or Sporting Clays

Postby petrel » Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:32 am

Go straight to sporting clays if they don't have skeet. Trap is fun, fast paced, and probably excellent practice if you shoot rising game (quail, chukkar, pheasant, etc.), skeet is an excellent warm up, just to get the gun swinging before a hunt. However for waterfowling I believe Sporting Clays would be the ticket. I got into it several years ago. Had my gun fitted and took three hours of lessons during the course of a summer, while trying to knock off at least 200 targets every weekend. By dove season, everything was happening in slow motion. By duck season, it was just a hoot.

Practice makes you better at anything. Sporting clays, in my opinion unlike skeet and trap, will help you work on the two things duckhunters have the most trouble with. The mechanics of a decent gun mount, and the ballistics of odd angled shots. Spend a summer pumping endorphins through your brain, everytime it properly calculates a trajectory and lead , and it will reward you come hunting season.

For gun fit and instruction, search the NSCA directory for someone qualified in your area. Buy a pallet of shells and have a ball!
petrel
hunter

Postby waterfowlhunter » Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:39 pm