Trap tips...

Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays; pistol/rifle target shooting, to plinking cans with a bb gun.

Moderator: waterfowlhunter

Trap tips...

Postby kjm1022 » Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:38 pm

My wife has gravitated towards trap the past few years. I have been a life long skeet shooter. I get her to shoot skeet on occasion as well, as she learned on a skeet field and has taken many lessons. We routinely shoot similar scores for trap, about 20-22. She consistantly shoots trap better than me, she's been shooting for about 2 years, I have been shooting for 20 years. I shoot consistantly without missing until I get to the 4th and 5th stations and it goes to hell. What should I be doing differently in regard to stance, hold point, look, etc... ? I shoot right handed.
kjm1022
hunter

Re: Trap tips...

Postby MOhuntingGuy » Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:31 pm

You need to open up your stance. Don't put your left foot behind you, put it more out (this is hard to type up without showing you :lol3: ). And don't point your gun right at the trap house. Hold it above by about 2 feet and to the right by about 3 feet for post 5. For post 4, hold high and right at the corner. And either lead the clay as it comes out or you can assault it where you point your muzzle where you 'think' its going to be. It might take some time to get comfortable with a certain stance and shooting style. A good trapshooter has a difference stance at every post.

And don't think I'm some dumb kid :hi: I've shot at state level high school competitions 4 times and National level high school competitions twice. And since I've been out of high school, I still shoot in leagues. Granted I'm not the greatest shot, but I did learn from some very very experienced shooters. :beer:

Good luck man!
Let there be welders, to attach metal to other metal things. Genesis 1:36

Kenlee's Krew Pro Staff
MOhuntingGuy
Mrs. Red Ryder

Postby TNAL45 » Mon Jul 25, 2011 3:35 pm