30-06 encore reloading help

Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays; pistol/rifle target shooting, to plinking cans with a bb gun.

Moderator: waterfowlhunter

30-06 encore reloading help

Postby Haywoodhonkerhunter » Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:15 am

I just got a used 30-06 encore barrel and so far the best group I've got out of it so far is around 3" @ 100. I'm new to encores do they usually like a heavier bullet or lighter and do encores like jump between the bullet or do they usually like to be in the lands, and if anyone has any load suggests I would be grateful for any help.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Haywoodhonkerhunter
hunter

Re: 30-06 encore reloading help

Postby Sagebrush » Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:26 pm

Shove a cleaning rod down the barrel with a tight patch and mark the rod with some tape next to the barrel.
Now slowly pull the rod back and stop when the mark on the rod comes around to the same spot.
Measure this distance to see what twist rate your barrel has.
A 1:10 is the standard twist for most 30-06 rifles. Knowing your barrel's twist can help in selecting what to shoot.
Sagebrush
hunter

Postby yz450f » Thu Jan 30, 2014 6:50 pm

Read Mike Bellm's page on setting an encore up. Seems these guns are headspace sensitive. He has lots of suggestions.
yz450f
hunter

Postby 2500hdon37s » Sat Feb 01, 2014 1:19 pm

Sagebrush wrote:Shove a cleaning rod down the barrel with a tight patch and mark the rod with some tape next to the barrel.
Now slowly pull the rod back and stop when the mark on the rod comes around to the same spot.
Measure this distance to see what twist rate your barrel has.
A 1:10 is the standard twist for most 30-06 rifles. Knowing your barrel's twist can help in selecting what to shoot.

^ this will be your biggest help... twist rate will determine what bullet weight will shoot best.
NRA and DU member, are you? if not you should be!

rabbitdundied wrote: I use my mojos in places I don't want birds to land.
2500hdon37s
Forum Moderator