My acheing cheek

Trap, Skeet, Sporting Clays; pistol/rifle target shooting, to plinking cans with a bb gun.

Moderator: waterfowlhunter

My acheing cheek

Postby Stogie » Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:36 pm

Shot trap for the first time in years. I hunt often but have not sat down and shot 3 boxes of shells in a row.

By the third round of clays I had a goose egg on my cheek and it is still sore 3 days later. Duck season opens in the morning so I guess I will have to just man up. 1 1/4 oz. #2 Steel is gonna kick my ass. I hope I don't flinch.

Question is???? Am I having to lean in too far to get a sight picture or is this normal after not shooting for awhile.

If I am leaning in too far how best to adjust the lift.

I was shooting 12 ga. 1 1/8 oz. 7 1/2 shot.
Stogie
hunter

Postby bowhunter20 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:28 pm

I have the same problem. Not saying im a pro shooter but this isnt effecting my shooting espeically with skeets.
__________________________________Bow Hunter
bowhunter20
hunter

Postby Kiskadinna » Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:54 pm

I don't have a problem with my cheek hurting while shooting clays - I generally shoot a couple rounds of clays a week, but when I threw 3 1/2s into my gun for patterning purposes, It did smart a bit. The problem I see is fit. I don't know what kind of gun you have, but you might consider having the drop adjusted by a smith or with aftermarket shims that some guns have.
-Erik
Kiskadinna
Super Moderator

Postby Sagebrush » Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:07 pm

I can shoot 200 to 250 shells in a meet with my U/O, Pump
and my auto and never have a sore cheak!!

Better have your stock "Worked on " !!!

since you have a very poor fit !!
Sagebrush
hunter

Postby duck stalker » Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:07 am

Somtimes I go through 200 shells a day! It might be how the gun is fitting you! I have a semi and just got last year and O/U.