new to trappin

Discussion on shooting predators & varmits and the trapping the furbearing animals.

Moderators: Preacher1011, nitrousneil

new to trappin

Postby canvas6 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:58 pm

Okay guys im new with trapping and I am after red fox mostly what is the best way to get them to walk across my trap ? any secrets to it. ? baits or anything ?
hold my beer and watch this sh%T
canvas6
hunter

Re: new to trappin

Postby JuniorPre 360 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:54 pm

Urine, fish, mice, muskrat, and possibly a few other things. You better have a very strong foot trap as well. We always lose a few a year. They are very smart animals so you may have to bait for a few times before setting the trap. I will tell you though, since you are just starting out, that you should ALWAYS get permission from the owners of the property before setting the traps and make sure you have your Fur Harvester License. We've caught a few dogs in traps and have had a lot of scuffles with "walk on" trappers on the land we trap. We have came out on top with these instances because we had permission to set the traps. I know all the farmers in Weber and they let us trap their land year round. Trapping is becoming more popular so it's always necessary to take these precautions.
A BAD DAY AT THE MARSH BEATS A GOOD DAY AT WORK.
killwoodies101 wrote:your a dudshe bag! You dont own the river your dont own any property around it.. Its just as mush mine and any other tom **** and harry's as it is yours !! get a life share what is yours or stop hunting
JuniorPre 360
hunter

Postby canvas6 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:14 pm

I use pigeons and they set my trap off and take the bird all the time, and I Know all the farmer out here too sence My famly own a dairy farm in west warren . I can get all the coon I want but I only want the foxes
hold my beer and watch this sh%T
canvas6
hunter

Postby JuniorPre 360 » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:47 pm