New to trapping...

Discussion on shooting predators & varmits and the trapping the furbearing animals.

Moderators: Preacher1011, nitrousneil

New to trapping...

Postby Whistlerwhittler » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:09 pm

This weekend I finally took a trappers safety course so that I can get my license. I'm looking forward to trapping muskrats and beaver this season. I've had access to a couple of private beaver ponds (~25-30 acres each) for duck hunting and I've already got permission to trap from one of the landowners. I plan to talk to the other landowner soon. I'll be scouting these places out soon because our duck season starts in October.

So now I've got to buy some gear. Because I'm new to trapping I'd like to start out small. So my question is what assortment of traps for muskrat and beaver would be good for a beginner? I already did pick up three 110 conibears this weekend. However from looking at some sets it seems that I'll probably want some leg-hold traps as well. Also, what is the minimum number of traps to set to make it worthwhile yet manageable for someone with limited time? Here we've got to check traps every 24 hours and I'd like to be able to check them early before I go to work.

At the course they discussed dipping the traps. I've also read that instead of using the commercial dips, you could let the traps rust slightly and then boil them in some mixture of plants; black walnuts, sumac, etc. What method do you prefer? If I do use the commercial dip, should I also let the trap get a light coat of rust first?

Thanks for any help.
Whistlerwhittler
hunter

Postby Preacher1011 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:09 am