my engine keeps shutting down

Discussion about Trucks, Cars, Motorcycles, & Trailers.

Moderators: fowl_wishes, whisperin' duck, KCDuckMaster, ajmorell

my engine keeps shutting down

Postby Montanafowler » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:55 am

the truck's a '69 ford f-100 with a 5.9, 360 CID engine, everything's original (until i tear it out.)

so i have been driving my truck around for a few months, i've gotten her running good and tested her out offroading, but i have one problem, the truck occasionally shuts down while i am driving. Last night was when it finally came to a head. i had the usual shut off, so i casually changed lanes and pulled into a parking lot as i was heading home from work. i tried to get the thing started again because it usually starts after five minutes. this time i couldn't get it started at all. I tried the third time's a charm and it sure wasn't! i heard a loud grinding sound as the truck tried to start so i shut her back down. now when i go to start it it doesn't crank the engine, my solenoid is clicking but i think my starter went bad, it could be anywhere from the key ignition to the coil, maybe a loose wire. either way, the flywheel is not being engaged. what do you guys think? any automotive experts in here? maybe you're restoring an older truck or car and could give some insight? i want to figure this out because it is getting to be a bit more than a pain in the side.

thanks
Booney3721 wrote:Try being a dishwasher/Grill cook/ellectrition/garbage disposer and your owner/boss is a fat greek woman who cals you names as Retard, stupid, idiot, molocah, f*** face and tard, and tells you that you was the inspiration for abortion and birth control.
Montanafowler
Forum Moderator

Postby ajmorell » Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:46 am

If it's grinding it sounds like there is a problem at the starter/flywheel interface. Either there are no teeth left on the starter gear or you bent or chipped a tooth on the flywheel....at least that is how it sounds to me.
Andy