Duck Hunting Forum banner

Any ideas on whats wrong?

2K views 33 replies 10 participants last post by  ajmorell 
#1 ·
01 Dodge Ram 1500 318 115K. Ran good for the first 45K miles that i owned and then last year, it started running rough. Missing, backfiring, "coughing," "spitting," if those help describe. The truck is also a 5 spd and has true dual exhaust with glass packs minus converters so it is pretty darn loud and the backfiring is very violent. Anyway, I changed the plugs and back to perfect. a couple months later, it starts the same ole crap. I havent checked to see what the plugs look like but i probably will tomorrow. What could be causing the plugs to go bad if in fact that is the problem. The new plugs dont even have 10K miles on them. Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I'm no mechanic.
That said, if it isn't a factory exhaust, you may need to change a chip, or reprogram the computer, to compensate for the loss of back pressure.

#4 ·
Your problem isn't the exhaust. Less backpressure is generally speaking a good thing...pretty common misconception actually. What size exhaust tubing are you running, that play a bigger factor than the type of exhaust you are running.

If your plugs are continually getting fouled obviously something isn't right. Pull a few and compare them to this:

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/engine/plugs.html

That should give you a pretty good idea of what is going on. If you're not sure post a pic of the plug(s).

#8 ·