Summer Duck Opening Day in Russia.

Mexico, Europe, South America, New Zealand, etc. Countries other than the US and CA.

Moderator: AAR

Summer Duck Opening Day in Russia.

Postby Humpty Dumpty » Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:47 am

Hi. I post this by way of introduction. My name is Aleksei, I live in Samara, Russia, I'm a professor of English as a Foreign Lanugage, and also write articles for the Russian Hunting Magazine, Russian edition of Sports Afield, and the Safari magazine.

Summer duck opening day is a big thing where I live. Actually, it's The Opening Day, with all capital letters. Everyone who's got a gun and hunting license is out in the field on that day. Which makes for much noise, drunkenness, breach of safety rules, skypelletting, and other discomforts. But if you can find a place where only real hunters go, it can be a lot of fun.

It just so happened, that I missed the last four seasons. The 2010 season was not opened due to exceptionally dry summer and autumn, and the threat of forrest fires. Then... you see, my wife is a huntress and we hunt together, which is great, until you've got a baby. Our second child cost us three seasons, but now the babysitting problem is solved, so beware birds, here we come!