weight lifting

Discussion of football, baseball, hockey, basketball, Nascar, etc..

Moderators: gotduck68415, HoCoHunter

weight lifting

Postby tealslayerblw » Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:32 pm

i know this should probably go into the sporting section, but i really want a lot of responces, and i would really appreciate it. I have been lifting for a few months now, and today i was told that i should go with low reps, high weight, in order to build muscle mass, and high reps low weight to increase endurence etc. so my question to you guys, is first off, is this the way to go about it? and secondly how many low reps, high weight sets should i do, thanks for the responces :salude: :salude:
tealslayerblw
hunter

Postby Boomn4x4 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:50 pm

You need to identify what you are tyring to accomplish
1. Bulk muscle
or
2. Endurance.

For #1 two reps of 10 @ 80% Maximum with a 5 min break between reps. Working each of your major muscle groups (lats, pecs, bicepts/tricpets, abs, glutes, theighs, calfs). If you are doing it right the first set will be fairly easy, the second set you should struggle and the last few.

For #2 I wouldn't worry about weights, you should be more focused on cardiovascular excersizes. Jump rope, excercise bike, tread mill, stairs.
I love my job, it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours.
Boomn4x4
Membership permanently suspended

Postby shrpshtr » Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:21 pm

the advice you received was correct. low reps, high weight for mass and high reps low weight to tone, or "cut". boom is right though, identify what you want to accomplish 1st. then plan your workout accordingly. muscle rebuilds itself completely between 6-7 days. so for mass you'll want to work out different groups of muscles once a week. with toning, you can work those groups 2 to 3 times a week (depending on how many total workout days a week you plan on doing). below are a couple of examples.

mass:
chest and triceps on one day.
legs and abs one day.