New to duck hunting! Tips?

A place for women who love the outdoors to meet and discuss things important from her prespective.

Moderators: Outdoor Gal, LadyK, NorCal Cazadora

New to duck hunting! Tips?

Postby Drover » Sun Mar 18, 2012 2:39 pm

Hello all! I am a newbie to duck hunting, and thougt some fellow lady outdoor lovers could help me get started. I would like to hear anything you have to say for tips! Also, i have a three year old lab from hunting lines. I have him trained well with thru retriving dummies, but he has never actually been hunting. Do you think he will be any good? Thanks!
Drover
Newb

Re: New to duck hunting! Tips?

Postby Ryd3r » Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:40 pm

Drover wrote:Hello all! I am a newbie to duck hunting, and thougt some fellow lady outdoor lovers could help me get started. I would like to hear anything you have to say for tips! Also, i have a three year old lab from hunting lines. I have him trained well with thru retriving dummies, but he has never actually been hunting. Do you think he will be any good? Thanks!

Hey and welcome to the sport. As for your dog it will just take practice and I am sure some scooby snacks and patience. :yes:

What kind of tips are you looking for? Spots? Ammo? Equipment?

What do you shoot? Do you know what kind of Ammo you want to use?

Are you field hunting or water hunting?
"When you have shot one bird flying you have shot all birds flying. They are all different and they fly in different ways but the sensation is the same and the last one is as good as the first." - Ernest Hemmingway
Ryd3r
hunter

Postby Drover » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:37 pm

well i will probably be using a 20 gauge shotgun that i already have ( its only a single shot though... going to be looking into a new one soon) and I will be doing water hunting. What are some good times of day? also, what kinds of equipment will i be needing?
Drover
Newb

Postby Ryd3r » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:44 am