hi i'm new

A place for women who love the outdoors to meet and discuss things important from her prespective.

Moderators: NorCal Cazadora, LadyK, Outdoor Gal

hi i'm new

Postby happyshooter » Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:05 pm

Hi there girls. I just started shooting clays this summer and am thinking of giving duck hunting a go (at least once with my boyfriend). I signed up on here to learn all i can so i don't seem too dumb when i do go out hunting with him. I would love to hear any tips, advice and such you have to offer. And if anyone else is really small (5feet 2inches, 105lbs) i would love to know what semi auto works best for you. I'm having a heck of a time finding a gun that doesn't beat the crap out of my shoulder after shooting 100 clays. Lately I've been using a bretta urika. It's nice but i couldn't afford to buy a gun like this for myself.
looking forward to chatting with you all, Jacquie
happyshooter
hunter

Postby harvey1b » Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:55 am

:welcome:

Welcome to the site!! I'm not a woman so I can't help you out on the female perspective, but it is great to have you here.

After reading your post I am hoping you may be able to help me out down the road. It sounds like I am in a simiar position as your boyfriend. This summer I introduced my girlfriend to clays shooting and she loved it. I have a Remington 1100 Light Skeet in 20 guage that my dad gave me when I was young. It fits her very well and doesn't kick at all. My sister-in-law also used it to learn how to shoot. Both of these women are pretty small, though maybe not as small as you.