**Research on women in hunting**

A place for women who love the outdoors to meet and discuss things important from her prespective.

Moderators: NorCal Cazadora, LadyK, Outdoor Gal

**Research on women in hunting**

Postby MK2022 » Sun Mar 29, 2009 6:40 am

Hello everyone! I have been a member of duckhuntingchat.com for a while. I consistently visit the website, but I have not made too many posts. I have been an avid duck hunter since I was about 12 and took my first deer this past season.

:hi:

I am a graduate student in Communications at Florida State University and am writing a research paper on one of my favorite topics-- Women in Hunting. I was hoping ya'll could help me out a little by answering a few questions. My main research question is how message board forums are helping the the trend of women in hunting grow and what women hunters are concerned with.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

:biggrin:

Thanks!
Katie
MK2022
hunter

Re: **Research on women in hunting**

Postby MK2022 » Sun Mar 29, 2009 6:49 am

Here are the questions:

1.) Did you start hunting because of a male relative, partner, or spouse?
Father, grandfather, uncle, brother, boyfriend, husband?
2.) How old were you when you first started going hunting? (Whether or not you carried a gun or just came along with someone else.)
3.) Have you noticed more of a trend in women-in-hunting?
4.) Do you find it difficult to find other female hunters and/or find ways to communicate with them?
5.) Have online message boards and forums helped you meet other female hunters?
6.) Do you hunt with all women?
7.) Do you hunt with all men?
8.) Are you encouraged to hunt by your male partner and/or male friends?
9.) Do you feel that women hunt in different ways than men?
10.) What types of hunting do you do?
11.) Do you find it difficult to find clothes for hunting? How do you find them?
12.) Do you find it difficult to find appropriate gear (guns, stands, etc)? How do you find them?