layman speaks

For discussions about the spiritual things in ones life.

Moderators: gracenjohn, Preacher1011, La. Hunter

layman speaks

Postby aunt betty » Wed Oct 19, 2011 3:06 pm

I was reading "the first book" thread and someone commented about a layman not understanding...

Well, I am a layman and I don't think as a layman that I need to "understand" and this is why.

When the bible was written laymen in general didn't even know how to read. Therefore it was not meant for them.
The only people at the time who could read were Kings and Scribes.
THAT is for whom the bible was written.

As a layman with such simple thoughts and simple mindedness I feel that all I need to worry about is following the golden rule and accepting Jesus as my savior. All the rest is meant for Kings and Scribes...

The Golden Rule Part A: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

The Golden Rule Part B: The ones who have the gold make the rules.

Have fun enlightening me...
INTERNET CREDIBILITY is...an OXYMORON. :moon:
aunt betty
memberhip was not approved

Re: layman speaks

Postby 870 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:33 pm

You are kidding right? You think it was only written for kings and scribes to read. Then they were to translate it to us the layman. The bible took nearly 1,400 years to write with nearly 40 different authors. Ranging from Kings, prophets and fishermen. The bible tells us clearly that when Jesus came down to earth, He gave up all power and authority and became man. It was He the son of an ordinary carpenter who took the scroll of Isaiah and read it. It was Jesus who rebuked the scribes and Pharisees because they didn’t know what was written in them about Him .