FPS loss

From big game to target practice to 3d shoots

Moderators: LaRedneck, birddog crazy, buffleheadnc2

FPS loss

Postby cjc » Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:50 pm

I am new to bow hunting and am researching products a lot to determine what would best suit my needs. I have read a lot about pros and cons of a Whisker Buisket. Average cons is that you lose about 5 FPS. Now if an arrow is traveling at 320 FPS and you are shooting at an animal that is 30 yards away, does that 5 FPS really make a difference? It seems that the arrow would arrive at the target about the same time from that distance. Does that 5 FPS give a much better outcome with a lot stronger impact or something?
cjc
hunter

Re: FPS loss

Postby Bill Herian » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:20 pm

For a begining archer who wants to limit shots to inside 30yds, I would reccomend a WB. The 5fps should not have any effect. I had a WB on my first bow, they are very practical for someone just starting out.

Once you've been at it awhile and you want to start shooting at 35, 40, 45 yards, I would suggest switching to a drop away. The WB loses its consistency big time beyond 30 yards.
Bill Herian
hunter

Postby cyber_scouter » Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:46 am

Let's do the math.

3 feet = 1 yard

300 feet = 100 yards

So an arrow that travels 300 FPS can travel 100 yards in 1 second. If you lose 5 FPS then you got an arrow that can travel 98.33 yards per second. First off, you shouldn't try to shoot an animal with a bow that is 95-100 yards away.

Now shooting only 30 yards away, an arrow traveling at 300FPS will get there in 0.3 seconds. That's fast. If you use a WB and lose 5 FPS shooting at 30 yards away, your arrow will get there in 0.305 seconds. Slightly slower right? Screw that, it's just as fast. Really, what's .005 seconds?

Basically, it is just as fast. The whole idea of losing 5 FPS is a bunch of crap. Get the WB if FPS is your only concern.
Utilize Technology---Scout from your computer desk.
cyber_scouter
hunter