single cam or dual cam?

From big game to target practice to 3d shoots

Moderators: LaRedneck, birddog crazy, buffleheadnc2

single cam or dual cam?

Postby waterfowlhunter » Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:19 am

What are the benifits or downfalls of either. I have a very nice Bear bow and love the way it shoots but it is now in its 10th season and I am looking at lighter, faster more compact bows for this spring. of course there are enough new bows to make your eyes hurt reading about them all but my question is about the cams. I have heard that dual cams are better and that a single cam causes the arrow to move up or down from the rest and that with a dual cam the arrow draws straight back and never changes alignment from the rest and provides better accuracy. I am not a bow expert in any way and want to go with the better option if there is one.
"A free people ought to be armed" George Washington 1790

‘For those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety, deserve neither Liberty nor safety.’ —Ben Franklin.”
waterfowlhunter
Forum & State Moderator

Re: single cam or dual cam?

Postby Cajun1085 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:47 am

This is a tough one. I am a single cam shooter. I shoot a drop away so I can say much about the movement of the arrow off the rest. I can say that I haven't had to retune or resight my bow in 2 years and I should about 50 arrows a week all year long. I have heard (no experience with) that dual cams are harder to keep in tune because you have to have your cams in time with one another. Hoyt/Bowtech people will say shoot dual cam. Mathews people will say shoot single cam. I say test as many bows as you can and pick the one that fits you.
GATORTAIL 1646 25GTR

SouthEast Gator-tail
Cajun1085
hunter

Postby waterfowlhunter » Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:23 pm

Cajun1085 wrote:I say test as many bows as you can and pick the one that fits you.