good bow for the money?

From big game to target practice to 3d shoots

Moderators: LaRedneck, birddog crazy, buffleheadnc2

good bow for the money?

Postby water_swatter01 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:12 am

I am just getting into archery. I have been shooting an old Browning, and I think I should upgrade. Any suggestions? :help:
water_swatter01
hunter

Postby NHDuckHunter » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:20 pm

Couldn't be a more open question, do you have a price range in mind? A lot of it is personal opinion and feel. Some guys like a smaller bow for weight and mobility, others say a longer bow is harder to aim. Then there is the whole confusion about what system is better. Right now, everyone but Hoyt is pretty much copying the Mathews designs. I am not a big fan of Hoyt's but plenty of people are. If I were to upgrade right now, it would most likely be to a Bowtech, but they are on the pricier side. If money is a limitation, I think the best value in bows are PSE's or a Diamond, which is owned by Bowtech.
NHDuckHunter
hunter

Postby water_swatter01 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:28 pm

I am looking for a compound around $400-$500.
water_swatter01
hunter

Postby BUB ERWIN » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:35 pm

I really enjoy my Parker bow. I believe you can get the Phenix in that price range, but I also love bowtechs. Check them out!
HOW THE *#%$ DID WE MISS THOSE DUCKS
BUB ERWIN
Newb

Postby water_swatter01 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:44 pm

Thanks for the replies. I'm gonna get a bowtech. :hammer:
water_swatter01
hunter

Postby Greenhead Grappler » Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:11 pm

bowtech is great. im eyein the allegiance myself.
Canceling Flights in the backwater of Northwest LA
Greenhead Grappler
Forum Moderator

Postby mattm25tx » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:24 pm

bowtech tomcat I just got one and really like it I think I paid $600 fully rigged but needed to be upgraded as with any package bow. But It is very light and accurate I robin hooded a arrow on my 2nd shot after I put a new sight on it.