Recurves

From big game to target practice to 3d shoots

Moderators: LaRedneck, birddog crazy, buffleheadnc2

Recurves

Postby holton39 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:39 am

Hey everyone, I'm new to the world of traditional archery and I'm looking for any advice I can get. I picked up a Ben Pearson Stallion recurve, 50lbs at 28''. I haven't decided if I want to shoot cedar shafts or aluminum, any suggestions?
holton39
hunter

Postby Trois_beaux_canards » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:54 am

I can't tell you what to do, but I can tell you what I do.

For target practice I use aluminum and carbon arrows. 45# PSE Kingfisher. I also use cedar arrows, but only arrows with my wooden 62# TD recrurve.

I hunt only with the 62# TD and cedar arrows.

I find that the lighter poundage allows me to stay focused on my form when I shoot the heavier bow. I prefer my targets within 30 yards, but am fairly prficient beyond that. I find that a heavy cedar arrow shoots better for my style than an aluminum or rcarbon arrow
-Ryan
Trois_beaux_canards
hunter

Postby holton39 » Sun Feb 24, 2008 5:23 pm

Thanks for the info, I guess I'll just try a little of each and see what shoots best with my style and bow. I will say that I like the looks of the cedar shafts the best!
holton39
hunter

Postby Maine4Me » Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:51 am

I shoot gold tip carbon arrows with a wood grain finish. i shoot these out of my fiberglass recurves and longbows. i also shoot the same out of my home made self bows. i shoot carbon because i'm lazy and i don't have to have several differnt arrows with different spines. Also i figure if bows can be made with glass and still called "traditional" why not use carbon (a by product of natural combustion). Also you can add tube inserts to increase the weight and increase penetration depending on the game you hunt. Just my 2 cents :hammer:
Population "Not Many!"
Maine4Me
hunter

Postby skybuster20ga » Thu Mar 13, 2008 12:29 pm