Duck Hunting Forum banner

crossbows?

3K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  jacob321 
#1 ·
i'm new to the archery game and was wanting to get a crossbow since they are legal here in TN and my arm is hurt. anybody got some good suggestions or pros and cons of the different brands? thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I'm not a crossbow fan myself unless it's for someone with a messed up arm or handicapped. That being said, in my opinion Ten Point, Excalibur, and Stryker are the top of the line. Of those I have personally shot Ten Points and Strykers. Strykers are darn fast, but loud and expensive. You can buy a Titan TL-7 for 599 at Gander. Personally if you want to spend a little less an Eastman X-Force is a great choice. The 300 is 399 and the 500 is 499. This is by far the quietest crossbow I have shot and I haven't had problems out of them.

If you want a brand to stay away from it's Parker. I've had nothing but trouble from them. I have one come back about every week that I have to send in for warentee work. The biggest problem I've seen with them is the bow not firing when you pull the trigger. You hear a click and the string doesn't release and you have to recock it and usually it will fire. Every bow dealer has a bad apple every now and then (I've had at least one of every make of bow come in broken) but Parker is BY FAR the worst.

#3 ·
thanks for the insight preach. i have a stress fracture in my right elbow which is my shooting elbow and drawing back a bow all the time couldnt be good for it. i am looking hard at the ten points and the barnetts. i think i'm gonna ask for money to go towards one for my birthday in january. just tryin to figure out which one i want.

#4 ·