Moon Phases and Deer Hunting?

From big game to target practice to 3d shoots

Moderators: LaRedneck, birddog crazy, buffleheadnc2

Moon Phases and Deer Hunting?

Postby Bano11 » Sat Jul 04, 2009 10:51 am

i am a very rookie hunter and i am looking for some info. i've heard that the moon phase can and often does have a strong effect on deer behavior. i looked into it online a little bit and just got more confused. some people seemed to say that deer move the most during nights with a lot of moon, which makes sense. but heres where i got confused: some said that would trigger lots of deer movement in general and the hunting would be good, while others said that the deer would move all night and bed down all day so the hunting would be bad. any insight?

also, i read some things about how the moon affects the rut. something like the rut usually occurs during the second full moon after the fall equinox. any thoughts?

and lastly, not related to the moon, ive read things saying that you should take moon phase and the weather into consideration, and that a front will change deer behavior too. how exactly does a front do this?

any insight would be much appreciated, thanks all.
Bano11
hunter

Re: Moon Phases and Deer Hunting?

Postby berettaguy17 » Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:38 am

i dont go by moon phase but thats just me. i do hunt harder ahead of and after a large front. ive noticed they will feed alot right before a front. as for the rut. nothing effects the rut in my eyes. it could start on a whim and they could go back into no rutting just like that. as for deer moving at night. they do move at night more, during the rut they run all day and all night. a mature buck will bed down with a doe after he hit it and if he dont have one he will just go find some. know what im sayin. they will try to find as many as they can. just go out and scout your area and find out when and where they move the most and set up if u can.