Swift Scopes ?

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

Swift Scopes ?

Postby Catskinner » Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:59 pm

I bought a Model 70 7MM that has a Swift 4x12. I have no experience with these scopes so I was wondering if they have any issues and will they hold up to a magnum rifle.
Catskinner
hunter

Re: Swift Scopes ?

Postby Kurt » Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:34 am

They are right in line with the tasco and barskas of the world junk. Now there will be people who will say i had one and it was great. well maybe if you shoot 10 times a year and just want to be able to hit a pie plate at 100 yds then the junk will be just fine. If you want to get some thing that is good at a good price check the vortex line of scopes out and also the nikon buckmaster scopes are alot of glass for the money. look at it this way you can spend 70 dollars every few years to buy new crap glass or just pay a little more now and be money ahead in the end. Vortex has the best cs(life time waranty) in the buisness the very few times it has been used.
Locked and Loaded
Kurt
hunter

Postby apexhunter » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:23 am

It seems you bought a nice rifle from somebody that originally had just enough money for the rifle itself and scrounged up enough pocket change for the scope. As far as Swift scopes are concerned, Kurt is pretty much right on. Optics is one arena that you definitely get what you pay for...and Swift is definitely at the bottom of that barrel in terms of pricing and performance.

Scopes in particular are highly segregated in terms of clarity, light transmission, rigidity, consistency (stays zeroed at varying magnification) and durability- and each of those factors adds dollars to the bottom line. Kurt made some good suggestions for moderately priced glass that will perform very well and I'd suggest adding entrance level Leupolds to that list.
"Shoot low boys...they're riding shetland ponies in search of true grit" Lewis Grizzard
apexhunter
hunter