Compact 40

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

Compact 40

Postby TCFarmer » Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:23 pm

I'm looking to carry a smaller handgun. Current gun is an XD 40, 4" barrel, and 12 round mag, in a Milt Sparks VM2. With summer coming up, I am looking for something a little smaller and lighter to carry when it's warm out.

Right now the top of my list is the PX4, or the XD. I have handled both and a couple of others. Even though I have been shooting the full size XD for 3 years, the PX4 felt better in my hand, but I haven't shot it yet.

I also like the compact 1911, but it's almost twice the money of the others.

So what do you like in the sub/compact handgun? How do you carry yours?
TCFarmer
hunter

Re: Compact 40

Postby Preacher1011 » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:14 pm

I carry a full sized Glock most of the time, even in the summer. Sometimes I'll carry my sub-compact though. Since you have an XD already, I'd go with a sub-compact XD as well. You can carry a small mag in the pistol, then carry a full size one as your backup since the magazines will interchange. Just my 2 cents though.
Locked&Loaded wrote: I got out shot by a 13 yeard old girl.

jrockncash wrote:Is that mask only for ghosts or can fat guys with little weiners use it too?

Preacher1011
Forum & State Moderator

Postby TomKat » Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:22 pm

you really need to look at the Kahr CW40. A great gun, just what you are looking for
TomKat
Dorothy

Postby TCFarmer » Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:51 pm

Thanks guys. I'm gonna head up to the range next week and try a couple different guns.
TCFarmer
hunter

Postby devildog28 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 5:06 pm

Why not the sub-compact XD-40? I carry one daily.
devildog28
hunter

Postby brsutton86 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:45 pm