Looking for first ever handgun

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

Postby MNWaterfowler22 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:20 am

First time poster on the handgun forum and I need some advice. I recently made a career move after being in education for 10+ years to a career that requires me to carry. I have little experience with handguns since I have only needed shotguns for hunting. Here is what I am looking for something that is easy to carry and not to bulky. I would like it to be in 9mm since it will be readily available and cheaper to shoot. I would like it to be some what inexpensive which kind of doesn't matter since I can get it at a discounted price. It won't be for competitions it will mainly be used at work to carry and to shot every once in a while since I mainly use shotguns. Here is what I have narrowed it down to.

Glock 17 or 34
Smith & Wesson M&P
Springfield Armory XD or XDm
If that doesn't light your fire, your woods wet!
MNWaterfowler22
hunter

Re: Looking for first ever handgun

Postby Sagebrush » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:29 am

It would be nice if your could get all three in your hands to get a feel for weight and balance.

Also how to take them apart and if parts are available and what type of warranty they have.

I have not used the 3rd weapon listed but the first two are quality weapons.
Sagebrush
hunter

Postby CutEm214 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:45 am

MNW - You can't really go wrong with the Glock, although neither of the ones you listed are very compact. Have you looked at the 22 or 23? The only downsides to them is they have poor balance (IMO) and they're kinda blocky at the grip. The Springfields are nice as well. I personally stay away from anything S&W anymore by principle, but that's just me. I know its not one of the guns you mentioned and also a bit pricier, but have you looked at any of the Sigs? The P227 is perhaps the most well balanced handgun I've ever picked up. Good luck in your search!
CutEm214
hunter