+P pistol ammo

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

+P pistol ammo

Postby H2OfowlND » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:07 am

I'm new to the pistol world, so I have a few questions about the +P ammo. I know it's higher pressure and velocity, but are there drawbacks to the ammo? I'll be getting a new XDM .45ACP this spring(currently overseas AF). Let me know what you think - good and bad about the +P ammo. Also, your experience doesn't have to be just .45 cal.
Thanks

H2O
H2OfowlND
hunter

Re: +P pistol ammo

Postby coruptone » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:40 pm

Draw backs= price. I have core-Bond in my sig right now and love +p amo. All of my .45 shoot tighter groups with + p but recoil is more. Oh yea did i say price, The price on any amo now is getting stupid! :no:
coruptone
hunter

Postby ajmorell » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:45 pm

The only real drawbacks are price and recoil. Assuming your gun is made for +p, it's ballistically superior to standard velocity ammo. I would carry it if I was in that boat, but I wouldn't make a habit out of target shooting with it, though you should put some of the +p rounds through it so you are comfortable with them.
Andy
ajmorell
Forum Moderator

Postby dakotashooter2 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:35 pm

It can beat up your gun a little faster if fed a steady diet of it.
dakotashooter2
hunter

Postby Sagebrush » Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:13 am

+P ammo is only in the 38 special and the 9mm.
+p stands for plus pressure in the 38 from 17,000 psi to 20,000 psi or 18,500 cup........the 9mm is 35,000 psi
and a +P around 38,500 psi.
Any weapon from 1945 in good condition can shoot +P ammo and most have +p stamped on the weapon.

45 acp does not have +p ammo...............

Any weapon shooting "Hot" maximum loads will wear out sooner,that is a simple fact.............while lead target loads