Handgun shooting

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

Handgun shooting

Postby ILgoosehunter12 » Sun Jun 23, 2013 2:14 pm

Hey guys, just thought I'd drop in here and see if you guys have any recommendations on books for handgun shooting. I am a new handgun shooter and also I am self-taught. I can develop a group, but not one worth talking about. Just trying to get some recs. on a book or a good video about hangun shooting. Thanks!
ILgoosehunter12
hunter

Re: Handgun shooting

Postby apexhunter » Wed Jun 26, 2013 7:01 am

Look for "The Modern Technique of the Pistol" by Gregory Morrison. This book sonsists of the teachings of Col. Jeff Cooper and is recognized worldwide as THE go to for basic pistol fundamentals and self defense shooting. Even if you aren't looking at SD the fundamentals are universal across all shooting as far as stance, grip and trigger control.
"Shoot low boys...they're riding shetland ponies in search of true grit" Lewis Grizzard
apexhunter
hunter

Postby ILgoosehunter12 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 1:38 am

apexhunter wrote:Look for "The Modern Technique of the Pistol" by Gregory Morrison. This book sonsists of the teachings of Col. Jeff Cooper and is recognized worldwide as THE go to for basic pistol fundamentals and self defense shooting. Even if you aren't looking at SD the fundamentals are universal across all shooting as far as stance, grip and trigger control.

Thanks! Appreciate it! Will deff have to check that out! It gets aggravating when you can't figure something out. I know I'm doing something wrong, just can't pick it out!
ILgoosehunter12
hunter

Postby ks_waterfowler » Thu Jun 27, 2013 1:30 pm

Do you have a range anywhere that you can get some help at as well. I had never shot a handgun before getting my current job. Some help went along ways. My 2 biggest problems were looking to see where the last shot had went, and jerking the trigger.