Glock or Beretta

From the .22 to the mighty 50 caliber

Moderator: fowl_wishes

Glock or Beretta

Postby dukkilr6 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:33 am

Hey guys I'm looking for my first semi-auto pistol. I'm considering a Beretta 92 or Glock 31, 32, or 33. I'm not sure what caliber I'm looking for. I like the 357 mag, but dont think I want to get into the 40-45 cals. Any input would be much appreciated. I'm new to pistols in general and just dont know exactly what to look for.

Thanks

Chuck
dukkilr6
hunter

Postby ALMODUX » Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:37 am

I'm not a fan of the way Glocks feel and shoot for me, but they are a more durable design from what I have seen than the 92 series. Beretta had a 'fix' for the brittle frame rails way back when, but we continued to shear them off in the Army after that. Of course, many now hold up VERY well for our troops, so maybe they have the alloy correct, finally. WHichever one feels best and shoots best, if you can try them out. I think if you try a Springfield XD series in 9mm/357 Sig, that you'll figure out it's the one to have. Just my .02. :biggrin:
Here's a thought: Let the ducks work and decoy.
ALMODUX
hunter

Postby big savage » Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:41 pm

Are you looking for something in a smaller frame so it can be your ccw?

I like my tarurs 24/7 in .40. Nice small frame that is easy to conceal. With the clip in, it's balance is also much to my liking. Shoots like a champ, and no hammer to contend with. Slide bite can be an issue if you don't practice good form though. And that .40 round gets great pennetration.

Sig's are nice.
Kimber is spendy, but REAL nice.
For a larger frame gun, it's hard to beat a 1911.
Glock makes a fine firearm, but I've never owned one. My buddies on the force say that they make damn fine service weapons though.
If it hops, it drops. If it flies, it dies.
big savage
hunter

Postby jjohnson_714 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:05 pm