Im new to this game.

A wild turkey hunting forum for hunting turkeys in the spring and fall seasons.

Moderators: stumpjumper, MossyGO!

Im new to this game.

Postby flatbottom mudslinger » Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:19 pm

Im new to this turkey hunting scenerio and Im starting to get geared up for my first season. I have a few questions. I was on ebay looking at turkey calls and I saw some things that Ive never seen before. What is a trumpet call and how is it used? What is a wingbone call? Is it just a striker? What would you recommend for a beginner? Ive seen some pretty awesome works of art on that ebay. Some of those handmade calls are absolutely gorgeous.
Now Im not new to hunting. In fact, the eastern turkey is one of the few game species in Michigan I havent taken yet. Ive been watching it on tv for several years. So I have a pretty good idea how the game is played. One thing I do know I need alot of help with is calling. How do you know when to use what call? A friend of mine hooked me up with his gear to use this season (actually hes trying to get me to buy it, I probably will) included is a glass call, an aluminum call, a rosewood striker, a carbon striker, a diaphram call, and a plunger type box call. I look at all this noise makin' stuff with a dumbfounded look on my face. The only thing Im any good at is the diaphram call. So why carry all this other crap into the woods with me? If turkey calling is like any other kind of hunting, time spent in the woods is what it takes to get good at it but if someone could inform me with some basic rules of thumb that would give me a starting point to learn from I would appreciate it. Thanks.