Best box call for Turkeys

A wild turkey hunting forum for hunting turkeys in the spring and fall seasons.

Moderators: stumpjumper, MossyGO!

Best box call for Turkeys

Postby brkncly » Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:02 pm

So, I'm new to turkey hunting. I'd like to get started with some basic calls, one of them being a box call. There are so many different kinds on the market, I don't know which one to buy. I'd like to know which brands you are using and what made you decide on the one you bought. I'd like to just buy once and not have to buy $100 or more to find one that works great here in Oregon. Thanks for your valuable input.
brkncly
Newb

Re: Best box call for Turkeys

Postby marsh-mello » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:42 pm

Best would be a relative term...as it would be readily apparent that most work just fine. For me the easiest I have found to use and have had several new hunters work with ease, is the Lynch model 101 fool proof turkey call. Pretty good name and it pretty much works that way if you ask me. Just chalk it up and pull the paddle and your good to go. I have tried numerous other models and some are a bit tricky, this one however will get you going and make you sound good from the get go. :thumbsup:

You shouldn't limit yourself to just a box call...another user friendly call is the Ole Yeller slaytek. Easy to use and sounds great.

Get yourself a mouth call..single cut diaphragm and practice with it until you can get the yelp down...you might need to have someone give you some tips as to holding it in your mouth properly and making the sounds? You tube might also be of some help. You will find you "need" to use a mouth call when things get busy(shaky as in gobbler fever) you don't want your hands fumbling with anything other than your gun!

Good luck!
Charter member of the "I only shoot bar belly geese club". I'm a Bar belly goose purist!
marsh-mello
hunter

Postby jbshunter » Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:13 pm