Duck Hunting Forum banner

dont really know what to do.

1K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  trigger22 
#1 ·
im pretty new to turkey hunting. i have a slate call its a MAD call with hickory and carbon striker. i kinda know how to use it like purr and yelp but really nothing else. im wondering how you call turkeys and what would be a good approach for me. im looking at a push button call but like i said im new and dont know how to do turkeys. so what kinda tips could you give a begginer.

thank you guys for any input.!!!!

#2 ·
Brother, with all the Videos on the market today you are in like flint. Just watch as many as you can, H S Strut puts out some good ones,Primos( the truth series) too. They will take you on "the hunt" , you will see different situations that they deal with, you will hear all the different calls , how and when to use them. Also, some of the calls on todays market will come with an instructional tape too. The slate will kill a lot of birds, but you need to master a plain yelp as it will be your bread and butter, the purrs will close the deal. A box call is a must and they are great for yelping and cutting on. Good Luck, hope this helped :thumbsup:

#3 ·
Great post Cut.