help me close the deal

A wild turkey hunting forum for hunting turkeys in the spring and fall seasons.

Moderators: stumpjumper, MossyGO!

help me close the deal

Postby jehler » Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:24 am

I need help guys, jehler jr. is dying to shoot a turkey and i am a novice turkey hunter at best. we have 4 more days left of his season and we have property to hunt that has birds. Let me give you the lowdown on what's been happening. first day we get set up under a big white pine with low branches, cut a bunch of branches to make a blind, our concealment is great. using a box call I make some calls every 15 minutes or so. we hear and see nothing until about 2:30 and then a gobble about 50 yards away just about makes us poop our selves. the tom walks out from behind the brush into the corner of the cherry orchard we are hunting next to, he is freekin huge, the biggest bird I have ever seen. he walks out just out of range (about 50 yards) and starts to strut. then just stands there 50 yards out looking. I give a light call and he gobbles. this goes on for about 20 minutes and then he just walks away.

Day two, hunt the same area but I set up a hen decoy with a jake mounting her just past our blind. same thing happens except he doesn't gobble but once then just stands there 50 yards out staring at the decoys for 10 minutes then walks away.

this bird is huge, I think it would be awsome for jr. to get a bird this big as his first but the old man is having a hard time gettin him to commit, any ideas? I don't know wether to quit calling after the first gobble, call more, differnt decoys? should i build a differnt blind and call 40 yards behind my son? He's only ten so I don't like the idea of not sitting with him but i think he can make the call, he has made the call not to shoot at 50 so I think he can handle it. any help would be greatly appreciated, we only have till saturday :help:
Buy it, use it, break it, fix it,
Trash it, change it, mail - upgrade it,