millet/ wild rice questions

A forum dedicated to conservation issues and listings of conservation Orgs

Moderators: NV Guide, Dogman

millet/ wild rice questions

Postby duckmanz71 » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:56 pm

Not sure if I am posting in the right forum or not, but I have a few questions on planting japanese millet, or wild rice. I have no prior experience with planting any of this so bear with me. I'm looking at planting some kind of wild food for ducks in a small wetland on my family's hunting property. I would probably describe it as a dead timber hole in the woods and it is probably about 3 to 4 acres in size. Also, keep in mind that I am in the northeast part of the country near the canadian border in NY state. Let me start by saying that this little hole is located in the middle of hard woods about 200 yards from a small river that my 80 acre family deer hunting property is located. In the past, I have jumped a few ducks here and there,mostly woodies out of there while I am deer hunting in October and early November. Also many times while sitting on watch, I hear and see many ducks flying the river so there are ducks in the area. Now, if there was a good food source, being close to a river where ducks traffic by, I think I could turn it into a good hunting hole, especially because it has a bit of a timber feel to it and up here in NY we dont get much timber hunting. My question is, is it to late to try and plant anything at this point in early summer? Also which crop is my best bet? I thought Japanese millet had to be planted on a dry area and then flooded after it has grown in, and rice seeds can be thrown right in the water an it is pretty hardy stuff, and rice will over take the natural vegitation. Keep in mind that it is in the middle of the woods so it may not get as good sunlight as say an open marsh would, also, there is some natural grass growing in and around the waters edge which has already come up. What would I have to do to get whatever crop I end