Suggestions on new rifle

Discussion on shooting predators & varmits and the trapping the furbearing animals.

Moderators: Preacher1011, nitrousneil

Suggestions on new rifle

Postby TNmatt83 » Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:07 am

Hey guys I wanted to get some suggestions on a new coyote gun. I'm sure this comes up all the time so I apology if yall are tired of talking about this. I'm completely new to coyote hunting and all i have right now are deer rifles (30-06 and 30-30) and I'm wanting something smaller calibur mainly for coyotes but also something i can take out and shoot alot and have fun target shooting. We don't get alot of super far shots here in TN but something that could reach out there to 250-300yds would be nice. I'm taking a trip to a friends ranch in TX for 4 days the end of next week so i decided this was a good time to go ahead and get one. I've been looking a little at either a .223 or a 22-250 but I'm open to just about anything. So please give me some advice. I'd like to keep it around $500 so that may limit me alot. Thanks in advance guys. - Matt
Any day that starts with a cold boat ride is a good one
TNmatt83
hunter

Re: Suggestions on new rifle

Postby daffy... » Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:28 am

ruger mk77 in .223 is what i would go for.

the best predator hunter around here uses a .17. not a .17 hmr but a .17 remington. says the .20 cals is just alittle to much on fox so thats his happy medium
daffy...
Forum Moderator

Postby TNmatt83 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:41 am