well.... ducks of course!!

A place to discuss Maine hunting. Topics include Maine's reknowned sea duck hunting.

Moderators: DUKHTR, Dogman

well.... ducks of course!!

Postby redeyed » Sat Oct 16, 2004 6:14 pm

guys... I think I'm broken! well I know I'm knocking myself out anyway..
This is my first year of serious duck hunting. I got started late last year and now I'm hooked!
Heres my problem.. I'm hunting from a canoe in the rice on merrymeeting bay. This great lil cove that the ducks seem to be channeled over, I've found that they chose a fairly regular flight pattern over this cove and I've seen some action but not much.. not for lack of ducks I tell ya this place is loaded with them! I just cant get close enough.
I'm using some blind material to conseal the boat but I think I'm getting busted on the approach, I'm using a 12 ga 2 3/4 and I need these ducks in close.
What ducks I am shooting I'm winging them and the kill is almost never clean and I've lost my share of wounded ducks. I'm never happy about this.
I have 4 beat up decoys and I'm looking to get a few more.
How many decoys is enough to be effective? What kind of call should I purchase and how can I get close to them? I saw about a thousand ducks tonight and all but a few were out of range.
Any help would be appreciated!!

Oh yeah I'm hunting with my step son he turns 10 on monday and will be using a 20 ga what load should I buy for him?
Thanks for reading!
do you walk to work or do you take your lunch?
redeyed
hunter

Postby Dogman » Sun Oct 17, 2004 2:43 pm