New to Idaho

A place to share Idaho bird hunting knowledge and discuss Idaho hunting tactics.

Moderators: donell67, casey_714, jjohnson_714

New to Idaho

Postby Dougdog66 » Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:59 am

Im new to Idaho (Texas native) and im in the Air National Guard here in Boise. I want to get into some ducks with a friend of mine from the base but neither of us have a dog or a boat. I was wondering where would be a good place for us to go to get some birds withought having to swim and retrive. I have heard of "jumping ditches" but am unsure of where to start. Any advice would be appreciated and what a good forum for hunters!!!! Keep up the good work!
Raised in Texas but got to Idaho as fast as i could!!
Dougdog66
Newb

Postby jjohnson_714 » Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:15 am

well season closes the 20th, so you are just about out of time... sorry i can't help you because im from the good part of the state and really dont know much about down there... welcome to the forum though :thumbsup:
jjohnson_714
State Moderator

Postby IDwtrfowler22 » Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:33 am

Dougdog, you might try the area around middleton especially lansing lane, lots of blinds and no need for a boat, just make sure you have waders, or there is fort boise out by parma, there is a couple of public land blinds on the snake near walters ferry near nampa/melba
IDwtrfowler22
hunter

Postby Idahofowlweather » Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:30 am

31st for are area and what make N.Idaho Better? It seems to me it freeze every think up even the boat ramps so what good it that? Fort boise is your best bet for Public Group but watch out for Sky busters... you also can float the boise river and jump shoot if you has a way of doing that! good luck and have fun....

Jake
Jacob Hyer
Idahofowlweather
hunter

Postby cootkilla » Mon Jan 09, 2006 12:10 pm