planting Japenese Millet

A forum dedicated to conservation issues and listings of conservation Orgs

Moderators: NV Guide, Dogman

planting Japenese Millet

Postby nrw1717 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:08 pm

This is the first year on a duck lease for me here in West Central Illinois. The farmer that takes care of the place said its to late for him to plant corn so we have to plant millet do to the flooding just went down. Thats fine I have all the equipment to do it. We have about 15 acres to plant but I have never played with millet before. I do have a few questions any help would be great. Thanks!

How many pounds per acre do you plant?

How high should you flood it?

Do you plant in your kill zone or do you plant on the outside of it?

What doess it cost per 50lb. bag in your area?
nrw1717
hunter

Re: planting Japenese Millet

Postby Eschutz » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:34 am

I'm by no means an expert, but have read a bit on the subject...

How many pounds per acre do you plant?

25-30 Lbs broadcast. Depending on the reference source it may vary 5 lbs.

How high should you flood it?

I've seen people say as little as 4-6'' but I think more 8-12'' would be better.

Do you plant in your kill zone or do you plant on the outside of it?

I don't see how it could hurt. You should be thinking more about what type of pond/impoundment you have, cover, natural food sources etc. Is this already a feeding spot? loafing? roost? It's good to provide some variety in cover and food type for many reasons. Don't want your eggs all in one basket! You might consider mixing some WGF Sorghum or buckwheat. You can mix this in and flood it when you do the jap, or if you don't control the water level's you may want to plant the wheat/sorghum higher up, so it has more time to develop before you bring the water up.

What does it cost per 50lb. bag in your area