Hunting Devils Lake

Share your insight with others in the North Dakota duck hunting forum in the heart of the Prairie Pothole Region.

Moderator: Chris_Hustad

Hunting Devils Lake

Postby Dead Duck Outfitters » Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:31 pm

Hey everyone I am originaly from North Dakota and have a trip planned for Devils lake in mid october and was wondering generally where the ducks are. I am not looking to steal spots just wondering if sides of the lake are better than others or am I hunting the bays or just potholes in the area any help is apreciated thank you.
Dead Duck Outfitters
hunter

Re: Hunting Devils Lake

Postby H2OfowlND » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:21 am

As a former ND resident, I'm sure you understand how the weather can be at that time of the year. So, saying that, pretty hard to tell now where the ducks will be and what the pressure will be also.

H2OfowlND
H2OfowlND
hunter

Postby recker » Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:24 pm

Isnt Devils Lake a really high hunting pressure area these days? My guess is the ducks will be on private posted land unfortunately.
recker
hunter

Postby Dead Duck Outfitters » Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:07 pm

Thank you guys for the info I am planning on taking my layout boats and my 16 footer on the big lake but do not know where to set up theres a ton of water just wondering if anywhere is good or if there is a side of the lake thats hot I fish the lake quiet a bit so any info like that is appreciated
Dead Duck Outfitters
hunter

Postby H2OfowlND » Mon Sep 19, 2011 3:18 pm

FYI on your boats..... this is from the ND G&F site.