New to duck hunting? Post here!

This forum is where New Mexico duck hunting is discussed. Read others posts and share your thoughts here.

Moderators: quackadikt, randy marci, ghostingrey

New to duck hunting? Post here!

Postby DCL » Tue Nov 22, 2011 8:17 pm

Hello I am new to duck hunting, and would like to know how many others there are! Post here and tell us a little about yourself, and hopefully we can learn new tips and techniques together!
DCL
hunter

Re: New to duck hunting? Post here!

Postby cjc » Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:41 pm

DCL wrote:Hello I am new to duck hunting, and would like to know how many others there are! Post here and tell us a little about yourself, and hopefully we can learn new tips and techniques together!

Great post! A lot of guys that are new to duck hunting have joined the forum and went straight to asking things like, "where's the good spots to hunt." They don't get kind answers a lot of the time. I think the way you approached this is well done :thumbsup: . You can learn a lot about hunting here because there are a lot of very knowledgeable guys here. Just pay attention to posts. Not so much the locations and stuff, but a lot of guys post pics of their dead birds and you can see their decoy spread in the background. I would focus on things like that. You get different tips on good ways to do things by the background. If I ain't shooting ducks on the river, and this guy posted pics of a ton of dead ducks on the river, I would try the decoy set up he is going with. Not that hunting is all about decoy set up (because it isn't), but that's just some little tips you can pic up from looking at things other than the kill shot. Hope this helps. I really encourage other hunters to send some good helpful info to this new guy just based off of the way he presented his situation. If not here for the lurkers to see, then maybe send him a PM.

P.S. :welcome: