New to turkey hunting

A wild turkey hunting forum for hunting turkeys in the spring and fall seasons.

Moderators: stumpjumper, MossyGO!

New to turkey hunting

Postby J Locker » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:42 pm

Hi everyone,
I'm new to turkey hunting, and new to this forum. I'm from CA and do a lot of duck hunting, but have never really done much turkey hunting. I'm wondering if any one knows of any turkey hunting spots around the central valley, and Fresno CA. I don't want to know anyone's secret spots or anything, just some general areas. I was thinking maybe above Pine flat lake, or lake don pedro. Any other tips and help would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
John
J Locker
hunter

Re: New to turkey hunting

Postby blugoose » Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:00 am

Good luck you will be going thru the learning curve. Any place where they have water and food they will hang out. Lakes are good just make sure its a legal hunt, Callin gobblers are like ducks. You have to read them. Its called taking their temperature. A hot tom will come to anything you make.Scoutin is very important, Use locater calls not turkey calls to find birds. and when hunting calling less is better. Be suttle and you will be surprised. Be a coy hen and make him try and find you. Remember they can see your eyes move so be still. Have fun with your new addiction!
blugoose
hunter

Postby J Locker » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:21 am

Thanks for the tips
J Locker
hunter

Postby pete/pmr » Sat Feb 04, 2012 7:38 am