New Guy Needs Help

A place for young hunters to discuss topics of interest.

Moderator: captainkevan

New Guy Needs Help

Postby pork4life » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:27 pm

How much should someone call whistling ducks like pintail, green-winged teal, widgeon, etc. Also which ducks should I use a mallard call, I have the Buck Gardner Baby Buck and the Primos whistle. I'm new to duck hunting.
Rick Hall wrote:If you look close, you'll see "momma" has a pecker.
pork4life
hunter

Re: New Guy Needs Help

Postby MossyMallard12 » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:28 pm

What I do is just mix in, around here Wigeons are RARE so I don't us it often. In between calling just blow the whistle. Around here Teal will eat up a peep from the whistle. You can even do Mallard Drake on a whistle.
Last edited by MossyMallard12 on Fri Mar 02, 2012 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Chillin', Killin', Grillin'!
MossyMallard12
hunter

Postby 2500hdon37s » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:10 am

Duck whistle is all you ever need to kill birds, no need to spend $100 on a duck call when you can buy a $10 whistle and hammer birds!
NRA and DU member, are you? if not you should be!

rabbitdundied wrote: I use my mojos in places I don't want birds to land.
2500hdon37s
Forum Moderator

Postby MossyMallard12 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:17 am

I've never heard of any one using just a whistle before,but if you want a Mallard hen don't go and buy fancy $200 call right now on Wing Supply they have REALLY CHEAP CALLS ON CLOSE OUT!!! Here is the link http://www.wingsupply.com/categories/cl ... calls.html
Chillin', Killin', Grillin'!
MossyMallard12
hunter

Postby clays all day » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:44 am

Im 17 and need to know if i can transport my own shotgun I know it can be loaded
clays all day
hunter

Postby RustyGunz1960 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:07 pm

clays all day wrote:Im 17 and need to know if i can transport my own shotgun I know it can be loaded