Killing Poison Ivy help

A forum dedicated to conservation issues and listings of conservation Orgs

Moderators: NV Guide, Dogman

Killing Poison Ivy help

Postby Slack Tide » Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:25 am

I am deathly allergic AND I am a landscaper during the summer.
Who's got the magic juice to exterminate this crap and NOT what's around it?
"I've been left for dead before but I'll still fight on, don't wait up, leave the light on, I'll be home soon"
Chris Smither
Slack Tide
hunter

Re: Killing Poison Ivy help

Postby aunt betty » Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:14 pm

My parents use a this product: http://lawn-and-garden.hardwarestore.com/77-488-brush-killer/ortho-brush-b-gon-poison-ivy-killer-274241.aspx

Roundup makes a product that works too.

Now, what to do when you think you have been exposed...
I was in The Boy Scouts, went to summer camp and on the list of required things to take was this: http://www.felsnaptha.com/

The naptha takes the poison oil away. (It's good soap too!) My wife is very allergic to poison ivy and can get it from walking by a fire that has some poison ivy on a log (the smoke) or brushing up against the dog that has been exposed etc.

Good luck. This info should help. :welcome:
INTERNET CREDIBILITY is...an OXYMORON. :moon:
aunt betty
memberhip was not approved

Postby alanwebfoot » Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:05 pm

wear rubber gloves ,,chop off the vine let the sap run paint the end of the stump liberally with pure bleach it will feed down into the roots and kill everything or else buy a goat ,on second thought bleach is easier on you and your sanity
alanwebfoot
hunter

Postby Dogman » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:27 am

I've used the Ortho stuff and can say it works well.