How do I set up my spread?

Duck Hunting for puddlers like Mallards, Sprig (Pintails), Black ducks, Widgeons, Woodducks, Teal, and other ducks.

Moderators: duckbuster06, The Cat Island Drake, Token

How do I set up my spread?

Postby BackWoodsHunter » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:05 pm

I'm new to duck hunting, and have been buying a lot of decoys lately. I have 2 dozen mallards, then a a half dozen woodies, half dozen gwt, half dozen pintails, and a half dozen widgeon. I'm not sure how to set out my spread. Starting with early season and progressing through the fall. Do you mix all the birds or keep them seperate on the water? What is more realistic?
Thanks for the help.
BackWoodsHunter
hunter

Re: How do I set up my spread?

Postby 2500hdon37s » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:21 pm

I tend to keep them somewhat sperate but kinda mixed where groups meet. the groups arent spaced out form each other compared to the spacing of each kind in a group.

and I'd try to put the woodies near an area with a little more cover like around trees or log protruding from the water. dont make some crazy pattern when setting them up just toss them out, but leave a "hole" where you would prefer the ducks to land, and make it easy for them to land in your hole according to the wind... never have the wind in your face, always have the wind blowing at your back or across (from left to right or R to L) your decoy spread. I will usually set up with a cross wind if I can, I'd rather have a nice swing shot at a duck and have the ducks looking at decoys when they are landing not staring right at where I'm trying to hide. I get a lot less flared ducks before I shoot this way.
NRA and DU member, are you? if not you should be!

rabbitdundied wrote: I use my mojos in places I don't want birds to land.
2500hdon37s
Forum Moderator

Postby sooner737 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:02 pm