seasoning bacon?

What's cooking?! A forum to share your favorite duck recipes, goose recipes, wild game recipes, and smoking; along with how to prepare game before hand.

Moderators: Indaswamp, brassass, daffy...

seasoning bacon?

Postby Bull Island Boy » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:59 am

when y'all fry up some bacon do y'all ever put any seasoning on it? i tried it the other day a cupple of ways and i think its great. the way i like to do it is add a little canola oil in the pan and then add the bacon then i had some leftover jerky seasoning i sprinkled it over the top side and let it fry on that side then flipped it over and did the same on that.then i proceeded to flip a few more times.i like this way better because the seasoning mixes with the oil and and flavors the bacon and i found that it doesn't char up the outside as bad.
have y'all ever done this or something similar. im just starting out cooking but i have had a little experience smoking meat in a smoker that i made witch worked pretty well.
BULL ISLAND HUNT CLUB
Bull Island Boy
hunter

Re: seasoning bacon?

Postby Force Fetch » Wed Aug 15, 2012 4:57 pm

I soak my #5 cut bacon in buttermilk over night and dredge it in seasoned flour (Cabellas Cajun Blackend) and with a little oil in the pan brown it up. The bacon doesn't shrink and a couple of pieces are enough for anyone but a major bacon hound. Thinner cut bacon also works just not as well.
Force Fetch
hunter

Postby aboz » Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:44 pm

Force Fetch wrote:I soak my #5 cut bacon in buttermilk over night and dredge it in seasoned flour (Cabellas Cajun Blackend) and with a little oil in the pan brown it up. The bacon doesn't shrink and a couple of pieces are enough for anyone but a major bacon hound. Thinner cut bacon also works just not as well.

Fried bacon, YUMMMM! :tongue:
take em
aboz
hunter

Postby Force Fetch » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:11 am