early goose hunting partner...

If you are a migratory bird hunter, share your New Hampshire duck hunting tactics here.

Moderators: Ross R, JustinNH

early goose hunting partner...

Postby waterfowler1987 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:41 pm

hey all, let me start by saying that I'm new to the sit but understand no one wants to give their spots away. Not looking for that. I recently separated from the Navy 5 years and have only hunted out in Washington state where I'm stationed. I know that scouting is the key but I get back to NH next Friday and will have very little time to scout. I'll be in the Nashua area and anyone willing to take me along would be greatly appreciated. I have my own layout blind, decoys everything but a boat. Thanks a lot for any help and can't wait to be back in NH. Live Free or Die.

alex
waterfowler1987
Newb

Re: early goose hunting partner...

Postby Benny8 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:49 am

Next friday will give you a full month to scout like the rest of us, before the duck opener. I have a job and family, but I still get out to scout and put my time in. Google earth is also helpful. What is it lately, is there an influx of people looking to hunt, but not willing to put their time in?
Benny8
hunter

Postby JustinNH » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:55 am

:welcome: to the forum and thank you for your service.

The geese are moving a lot now,so I would say now is the best time to scout. I had been watching a few groups and just like last year, none are where they were a month earlier... so you are not too late to find them.

Early goose has never been my specialty. Just lookin forward to October ducks :thumbsup:
JustinNH
State Moderator

Postby rickbr » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:42 pm

Welcome to the forum Alex. Thank-you for your service. I've been trying to keep my out for a few spots for early goose myself.