Hello all, help needed for a beginner

Share your opinions, reply to posts and meet others in the South Carolina duck hunting forum.

Hello all, help needed for a beginner

Postby Bpowell » Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:46 am

Hey guys, im completely new to duck hunting and in need of some advice. Actually a lot of advice is needed, and this post is sure to be loaded, so if anyone is up for it I would greatly appteciate it.

Basically I need to know what gear isabsolutely essential . I have a shotgun, a 13 foot jon boat and a whole lotta "want to"... Thats pretty much it. Is a dog an absolute must?

Where should I hunt(im not looking for specifics, I know that information is probably privy to family and close friends)? I live in Simpsonville but travel for work constantly. Im currently in Chattanooga and will be here through January off and on. Should I focus my attention here(chatt area/northern alabama), or come back to Upstate SC on the weekends? Obviously the Greenville area is no hotbed for duck hunting, but apparently this part of TN isnt either.

What about etiquette on the water? Last thing I want to do is disturb another hunter.

And last, how much am I looking to spend on decoys, camo, etc?

Again, I know this is a lot to answer, and if its too much I completely understand. But this seems like a reasonable forum with friendly folks so I figured I would give it a try. Thanks yall!
Bpowell
Newb

Re: Hello all, help needed for a beginner

Postby shorton » Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:12 pm

Most essentials are waders, shotgun, shells, decoys, and a good place to hunt. (Not necessairly in that order either)

If you have a boat a dog isnt really necessary, but makes for great company and is awesome to watch them work. Wish i had one myself for those reasons

As far as location I am still trying to find that myself. I had access to some great woodie hunting on the black river in manning but we lost it this year due to farming situation.
shorton
Newb