Winchester SX3 recoil

Share your questions on all makes and models of shotguns. Please post chokes questions in the SRBC forum

Moderators: Quack Wacker NC, MM

Winchester SX3 recoil

Postby NeverFail » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:22 pm

I have a new sx3 3 1/2 12 gauge duck blind camo 28" barrel. I shot about 300 rounds of 1 1/8 oz trap loads and about 50 3" loads. The recoil for all these shells are about the same as my Benelli M1 super 90. I thought the recoil was suppose to be a lot less. The gun fits me. I killed many geese already this year and do well on trap, skeet and Sporting Clays. When I close my eyes and point the gun at an object the bead is the only thing I see (no barrel at all). The heel of the recoil pad has a plastic covering and is really hard. I think this is causing the bruising i am getting. The gun ejects all shells including 1 oz trap loads. Is there something wrong with the gun? It really kicks hard. I've been hunting for 35 years. I shot a lot of different guns in my life. The SX3 reminds me of my old mossberg pump's recoil. I've shot doubles, OU, pumps, gas autos and inertia driven autos. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Mark
NeverFail
hunter

Re: Winchester SX3 recoil

Postby waterrat2 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:20 am

When I test fired mine before I bought it, I thought the same thing, however, I believe it was in my head. I was focused on the claim of light recoil. After a few yrs of shooting it, I do think the recoil is lighter than most.
waterrat2
hunter

Postby duckslayer74 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:17 am

300 rounds isn't quite enough for break in, give it some time and keep it clean.
Winchester SX2 12ga, SX3 20ga, Kicks Highflyer and Terror chokes.
duckslayer74
hunter

Postby Uncle Jesse » Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:25 am

I had one for a few months and with 1 ounce loads it seemed to have less recoil than by Benelli. Anything heavier than that I couldn't tell any difference either.
Jesus Saves
Uncle Jesse
hunter