Blind Etiquette

If you are a migratory bird hunter, share your New Hampshire duck hunting tactics here.

Moderators: JustinNH, Ross R

Blind Etiquette

Postby kfran12345 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:27 pm

Looking for your thoughts about blind etiquette. I have been hunting for 25 years and more specifically, duck hunting for the last 8 or so. I mainly hunt in an area that contains several blinds and it is all town/state land. My approach has always been one of first come, first served. Whether it's a blind or just a favorite spot on the water, I have always deferred to someone who is there before me. Even when arriving, if someone is heading out, I make it a point to ask where they are going and position myself elsewhere. I have always encountered people who operate similarly until this last weekend.

I brought a couple friends with me, so decided to hunt out of one of the blinds. We arrived about an hour before shooting time and set up. About a half hour before shooting time, we were approached by a couple guys who wanted to know what we were doing in their blind. One guy proceeded to tell us that his name was all over it (it was dark) and that he had been hunting there for 8 years. I told him that I had been hunting there about that long too and had always deferred to someone that arrived before me. I know the blind was built far more than 8 years ago, so he clearly hadn't built it. After a short discussion, he finally went elsewhere.

Over the years, I have added camo to this blind and performed some repairs, but I never felt that I owned it. In 8 years of hunting this area, I have never encountered someone like this and I was extremely disappointed. One of my hunting partners who had never hunted there before commented on why that's why he doesn't like hunting around other people as he has had similar encounters.

How do you all generally operate in a situation like this. Love to hear your thoughts.
kfran12345
Newb

Re: Blind Etiquette